Alice F. Lal Mills Memorial Trophy


Alice F. "Lal" Mills Memorial Trophy

Alice F. "Lal" Mills Memorial Trophy

Awarded for the most outstanding performance of a Folk Song, traditional or traditional style, by a Grade B vocalist

The Alice F. "Lal" Mills Memorial Trophy was donated to the Winnipeg Music Festival in 1963 by a group of her friends from across Canada. Born in England on March 14, 1896, Alice (Evans) Mills grew up at Rossel, near Reading, and came to Canada with her parents in 1916. With the exception of a short time in Carman, she lived in Winnipeg until 1946. She possessed an exceptionally fine contralto voice, and studied in England and then in Winnipeg under Arnold Dann and R.T. Halliley. She was the contralto soloist at Young United and Grace United churches. A voice teacher until 1940, she taught many well-known Winnipeg musicians and encouraged all of her pupils to enter the Winnipeg Music Festival. She was one of the prime movers in establishing the Aeolian Group. Mrs. Mills died in Vancouver on May 5th, 1962.


1963 Erna DeFehr
1964 Judy Taylor
1965 Stephanie Lesyk
1966 Patricia Johnson
1967 Barbara Dumas
1968 Beverley Mazer
1969 Sigrid Thorsteinson
1970 Clarke Saunders
1971 no entry
1972 Frederick Simpson
1973 Vivien Laurie
1974 Lorna Brown
1975 Barbara Hicks
1976 Gordon L. Clarke
1977 Andrew S. Thomson
1978 Lisa Cosens
1979 Craig Oliphant
1980 Joanne Rocan-Mercier
1981 Craig Sandell
1982 Murray Peterson
1983 Duncan A. MacGregor
1984 Shawna Madeline Dyck
1985 Michele Reimer & Colleen Morrison
1986 Patty Jamieson
1987 Alice Cameron
1988 Tristin Tergesen
1989 Nancy Kroeker
1990 Kirsten Brough
1991 Colleen Smith
1992 Kevin Young
1993 Paul Mayba
1994 Sandra Fach
1995 Marlo Campbell
1996 Amanda Hammond
1997 Maria Vincenten
1998 Paul Neufeld
1999 John Van Benthem

2000 Don Murchison
2001 James A. R. Johnston
2002 James Johnston
2003 Don Murchison
2004 Crystal Shostal
2005 Krista Rey
2006 Andrew Richert
2007 Sara Clefstad
2008 Jodi Epp
2009 Alicia Dash
2010 Megan Siân Duckett
2011 Geneva Halverson
2012 Scott Peterson
2013 Demi Lough
2014 Not Awarded
2015 Demi Lough
2016 Andrea Dicks
2017 Andrew Mayba
2018 Not Awarded