Alma Wynne Memorial Trophy


Alma Wynne Memorial Trophy

Alma Wynne Memorial Trophy

Awarded for the most outstanding performance in a competition of vocalists, 18 years of age & under.

The St. David’s Society donated the Alma Wynne Memorial Trophy to the Winnipeg Music Festival in 1949, in memory of Alma Wynne, who died tragically as a youth in a train accident.  This trophy was originally awarded in an annual competition of Junior Vocal Class winners.  Since 1960, it has been awarded for the most outstanding performance in a competition of vocalists, 18 years of age & under.

Alma Wynne was born in 1929 and died tragically in the Dugald train wreck on Labour Day 1947.  She was a student at Laura Secord School and Gordon Bell High School.  She studied singing with Doris Mills.  Alma was a talented young lady, with a beautiful singing voice and outstanding dramatic and artistic abilities.  She performed in her school operetta productions, and in 1946, at age seventeen, participated in the Winnipeg Music Festival, winning the Junior Contralto solo, Junior Folk Song solo and Junior Gilbert & Sullivan Operatic solo classes.  In the latter class, she received a mark of 95 for her interpretation of Mad Margaret’s Song from Ruddigore.  The adjudicator Mr. Golsbrough said, “No words of mine could do justice to this performance.  It is so mature and imaginative – it was a staggering performance”.


1949 Elaine Noreene Oakley
1950 Shirley Vincent
1951 Heather Lindsay
1952 Henriette Platford
1953 Lorraine Mensforth
1954 Peggy Dryden
1955 Donna Joan Neily
1956 Edward Evanko
1957 Marcelle Monette
1958 Helmut Rischer
1959 Bill Thiessen
1960 James Ryan
1961 Joy Gislason
1962 Mary Nowell
1963 Niels S. Lund
1964 Diane Landry
1965 Judy Lander
1966 Barbara Dumas
1967 Sandra Head
1968 Elizabeth Adams
1969 Olivia Belyea
1970 Carla Norris
1971 Ken Maslowsky
1972 Irene Koenecke
1973 Carol Justice
1974 Peter Barnes
1975 Andrew Thomson
1976 Lisa Cosens
1977 Bruce Murray Waldie
1978 Andrea E. Ilchena
1979 Lisa Topham
1980 Tracy Dahl
1981 Viviana Zarrillo
1982 Carla Lother
1983 Raymond Sokalski
1984 Tuesday April Royko
1985 Cheryl Martin
1986 Matthew Ball
1987 Melinda Enns
1988 Sung Taek Chung
1989 Millicent Scarlett
1990 Jaylene Reigh McBurney
1991 James Ross McLennan
1992 Glen Nowell
1993 Kristjan Hayden
1994 Gillian Dawn Storsley
1995 Amanda Hammond
1996 Valdine Ritchie
1997 Rachael Harwood-Jones
1998 Paula McLeod
1999 Cindy MacDonald

2000 Kayla Vande Kraats
2001 Cherise Kotelniski
2002 Sarah Halmarson
2003 Heather Kozak
2004 Alastair Thomson
2005 Kathryn Patrick
2006 Lara Secord-Haid
2007 Ashley Klassen
2008 Matthew Fletcher
2009 Jessica Kos-Whicher
2010 Demi Lough
2011 Colleen Furlan
2012 Katherine Mayba
2013 Kira Fondse
2014 Christina Thanisch-Smith
2015 Nikita Silagy
2016 Josh Bellan
2017 Anton Sokalski
2018 Randi Roy