Frances E. Wickberg Trophy


Frances E. Wickberg Trophy

Frances E. Wickberg Trophy
Awarded for the most outstanding performance in a competition of girls,
8 and 10 years of age & under

Family and former students donated the Frances A. Wickberg trophy to the Winnipeg Music Festival in 2004.  

Frances studied piano with Muriel Cottingham and voice with Gladys Whitehead, Lucien Needham and W. H. Anderson.  She was a member of the CBC Winnipeg Choristers under F. Hubble and W. H. Anderson, and was a church soloist for many years.  Recipient of a University of Manitoba Gold Medal for Singing, Frances began her involvement with the Winnipeg Music Festival as an accompanist for her students and for school choirs.

An examiner for both the Western Board of Music and Conservatory Canada, Frances has adjudicated in festivals from Newfoundland to British Columbia.  She has served on Winnipeg Music Festival committees and on the Board of Directors.  Her love of music, shared with her students, has carried on through their involvement in the Winnipeg Music Festival as participants, teachers, accompanists, committee members, members of the Board of Directors and staff.


2004 Colleen Furlan
2005 Marielle Gervais
2006 Aisha Kunzig
2007 Ryann Teillet
2008 Miranda Baran
2009 Rachel Unruh
2010 Annemiek Mallory
2011 Annie Johnston
2012 Geraldin Geco Padilla
2013 Juliana West
2014 Antonietta Bueti
2015 Sandy (Sampim) Sunpaweravong
2016 Isabella Deeley
2017 Chiara Wilson
2018 Salina Lupu