Herbert and Audrey Belyea Trophy


Herbert and Audrey Belyea Trophy

Herbert and Audrey Belyea Trophy
Awarded for the most outstanding performance of a German Lied, French Mélodie, Italian Art Song, Spanish Art Song or 20th/21st Century English Art Song by a Grade A vocalist 

The Herbert and Audrey Belyea Trophy was donated by family members to the Winnipeg Music Festival in 1999.

Herbert Belyea was born in Winnipeg in 1917 and died in 2001.  He received his early choral training as a boy in All Saints Anglican Church Choir and the Winnipeg Boys’ Choir.  After completing Grade 12, he attended Manitoba Normal School.  In the spring of 1941, he began active service as an artillery officer in the Armed Forces.  After he returned home in the fall of 1945, he completed his Bachelor of Arts at the University of Manitoba.  There he studied with American composers Hunter Johnson and the late Dr. Paul Gelrud.  He was a vocal student of the late W.H. Anderson and sang with the C.B.C. Winnipeg Choristers for twenty years.  Mr. Belyea received his Masters of Education from the University of Manitoba in 1961.  For 19 years he was a music specialist with the Winnipeg School Division.  From 1967 to 1978 he was a professor of music in the Faculty of Music.  He adjudicated vocal and choral classes at music festivals throughout Canada, and was a member of the Men’s Music Club from 1948 to 1998, as well as a board member of the Winnipeg Music Festival.  Mr. Belyea was made an Honorary Life Member of the Winnipeg Music Festival and the Manitoba Music Educators.

Audrey Belyea was Herbert’s constant companion and collaborator.  She accompanied all his vocal students throughout the years, at lessons, recitals, competitions and recordings.  She was the organist at the various churches of which he was choirmaster.  An accomplished musician in her own right, she remains active in the teaching of piano and theory students, as well in accompanying vocalists.  Herb and Audrey’s three children, as well as several grandchildren, have all participated in the Winnipeg Music Festival.


1999 Stacey Nattrass
2000 Amanda Hammond
2001 Kathleen Moore
2002 Kathleen Moore
2003 Catherine Abele
2004 Brian Wehrle
2005 Elmer Kehler
2006 Dawn Bruch
2007 Howard Rempel
2008 Macy Schroeder
2009 Kathryn Nickford
2010 Conrad Siebert
2011 Carrie Hall
2012 Jan Nato
2013 Anne-Marie MacIntosh
2014 Julie Lumsden
2015 Jessica Kos-Whicher
2016 Ben Kroeker
2017 Emma Johnson
2018 Sven Buller